I do have pictures of the spinning.

Ah, ah! Wait, first, I have to torture you with news in the way of Kid’s Camp at Corporate Employer, where I will be promoting (and then teaching!) children from the ages of five to fourteen the fine art of knitting.

Yes.

Five.

to.

Fourteen.

We’ll be knitting little critters, knit entirely in garter stitch (the good) and using simple techniques such as k2tog’s (the bad). I say that a bit sarcastically because I’m guessing a fourteen year old would get it–but, then, they’d probably also be bored to death with these lame little creatures.

Five-year-olds? Casting-on, knitting, knitting two together and binding off? Then crocheting little tentacle-legs for the octopuse and crochet circles for the poor Angelfish’s eyes? RIggggghhhhht.

even my critters look a little bit on the dorky side:

Oscar the Octopus & Andy the Angelfish hanging out.

Oscar the Octopus & Andy the Angelfish hanging out.

I’m curious about comments–lame? unreasonable expectations of the little ones? a total misfire of “cool factor” for tweeners? and teens?

I’ll be knitting into the wee hours, trying to improve poor Oscar and Andy, and attempting to have my example shape-swatches ready for tomorrow’s demo.

